Stockport Walking & Outdoor Group



 Sunday and Thursday Walks 

  • Occasionally we stop at a pub for lunch but often not. Therefore it is essential to bring a packed lunch and a drink. 
  • Please wear sensible footwear and carry waterproof clothing. 
  • The leader has the right not to accept walkers considered to be inadequately equipped. 
  • Dogs are accepted at the leader’s discretion and should be kept on leads.
  • Observe the Countryside Code.

We DEPART Sunday 09.30 am;  Thursday 10.00am, from either the Hazel Grove Park and Ride, behind the Rising Sun pub (HG) OR from on-road parking at  Piccadilly, Stockport town centre (P).



Thursday, 13 April -  Monday, 17 April

Hadrian's Wall weekend. John Gregory.

Saturday, 15 April

Win Hill & Hope - 9 miles. Jane (HG) 07814942972

meet 10.30 am !

Thursday, 20 April

Chee Dale - 8 miles, Chris Hughes. (HG) 07866 299451


Sunday, 23 April

Glossop - 14 miles, Paul Davies. (HG)


Sunday, 7 May

Wormhill to Taddington - Howard Reading (HG)


Thursday, 11 May

Stanton Moor - 7 miles. Joan Hadfield. (HG) 01625 250554 / 07722 429157


Sunday, 14 May

Frodsham and the River Weaver – 10.5 miles. John Edwards. (P). 07470513425


Sunday, 21 May

 Yorkshire Dales, Embsay - 12 miles. Steve Harrington. (P) 07912 699754


Sunday, 4 June

Beeley Moor –12 miles. Phil Wharmby. (P)


Thursday, 8 June

Coombs & Castle Naze - 7 miles. Pete Hudson.  (HG) 

01625 850445 Mob: 07526 414530


Sunday, 11 June

Esclusham Mountain from Bersham near Wrexham -14 miles. Mark Coleman. (P)


Sunday, 18 June

Blackstone Edge and Stoodley Pike – 12 miles. Pete Hudson. (P). 07526 414530


Sunday, 25 June

Wolfescote Dale from Hartington – 9 miles. Chris Randall. (HG)


Sunday, 2 July

The Clywydian Ridge from Loggerheads - 9 to 12 miles. Cary (P). 07940 152977


Sunday, 9 July

Greenfield to Hadfield. Chris Hughes. (P)


Thursday, 13 July

Goyt Valley - 7 miles. Sue & Steve B. (HG) 01663 765006


Sunday, 16 July

Lymm to Dunham Massey. Jane Walker (HG)


Sunday, 23 July

Formby. Jack Martin. (P)


Sunday, 6 August

Pendle Hill, Lancs - 10 miles. John Edwards (P). 07470513425


Wednesday, 9 August

High Lane evening walk. Paul Davies


Thursday, 10 August

Timbersbrook & Bosley Cloud - 7 miles. Sue Earp.  (HG)  01663 308902


Sunday, 13 August

Peak Forest and Castleton -10 miles. Nigel Earp. (HG). 01663 308902

Sunday, 20 August

Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Harvey. (P)







Everyone taking part in Group activities does so at their own risk.
        • The Group will not be held responsible for any accident, injury or loss occurring as a result of any Group event or in connection with travel to such event, however caused. 
        • Members attending are reminded that outdoor activities frequently need specialist equipment (boots, waterproofs, etc) and the group does not provide these. 
        • Should you attend an event and, in the opinion of the leader, pose a risk to the safety of yourself or the group, then you will be politely turned away. (For example: being ill-equipped for the terrain and weather conditions)
        • Please contact the leader in advance if you are unsure what will be appropriate for the event. 
        • Accompanied children under 18 are welcome but please check with the walk leader beforehand to ensure that the terrain and distance are suitable.
Community Web Kit provided free by BT